Contact Support

User Management

Flix provides three ways to authenticate users (story artists, production staff, and so on.): LDAP, OAuth, and Flix User Management system.

Note:  The first time the Flix Server is run, it automatically creates an admin user with the username and password both set to admin, which you can use to log in to Flix for the first time. It is recommended that you change the default password after the first log in.

LDAP (Lightweight Directory Access Protocol)

LDAP Authentication allows Flix users to log in using their supplied credentials for your LDAP/AD. Once configured, users will be able to log in and use Flix with their network credentials. The first time a user logs in, Flix will obtain their groups from AD and associate them with the user in Flix. This allows system administrators to add permissions in Flix based on groups from your active directory.

ldap:

use_ldap: true

base: dc=my_domain,dc=com

host: ldap.mydomain.com

use_ssl: false

bind_search: uid=john.smith,ou=People,dc=my_domain,dc=com

bind_pass: password

use_ldap - This turns on or off the LDAP authentication method for this server. Values: true | false

base - The base dn is the point from where a server will search for users in your AD. You must supply at least the Domain Component (DC).

host - Specifies the hostname of your LDAP/AD server.

use_ssl -This indicates whether or not to use SSL/TLS when connecting to your LDAP server. Values: true | false

bind_search - Specifies the SearchDN for binding to your LDAP service. This should be a read only account.

Example: uid=read-only-username,ou=People,dc=my_company,dc=co,dc=uk

bind_pass - Specifies the Password for the username provided in 'bind_user'.

OAuth

The OAuth configuration allows users to log in to Flix using their credentials provided by an OAuth service. Using the example below, configure your Flix server config file to use OAuth. Once the configuration is enabled, restart your Flix Server, and users should now be able to log in using the Sign On with Google button.

oauth:

use_oauth: true

domain: my_domain.com

providers:

- Google

use_oauth - This determines whether to use OAuth authentication or not.

Note:  Please be certain not to have LDAP and OAuth both enabled.

domain - This specifies the domain name for your OAuth provided credentials.

providers - This specifies the OAuth provider.

Note:  Currently the only OAuth provider supported is 'Google'.

Flix User Management System

Note:  Managing users is restricted to users who have an admin account.

Creating a User Account

As an administrator using the Flix User Management system you can create user accounts and assign them to specific groups. To create a user account:

1.   Navigate to File > Admin Console.
2.   In the User Management tab, in the Create user section, fill in the User name, Email address, Password, Confirm password and Groups fields.

Note:  To create a group, see Creating, Editing and Deleting a User Group.

3.   Select whether you want to give the user an Admin status.

The toggle turns green to indicate the admin permissions.

4.   Click Create.

The new user account is added to the User Management table.

Editing and Deleting User Accounts

To make modifications to existing user accounts:

1.   Navigate to File > Admin Console.
2.   In the User Management tab, select the user account in the table.

The selected user account is highlighted in yellow. To deselect a user account, click it again.

3.   Edit its details in the Edit user section.
4.   Click Edit.

The user account is updated with your edits.

To delete a user account:

1.   Navigate to File > Admin Console.
2.   In the User Management tab, select the user account in the table.

The selected user account is highlighted in yellow.

3.   In the Edit user section, click the Trash button.

The user account is deleted.

Creating, Editing and Deleting a User Group

You can use groups to allow users to access certain shows.

1.   Navigate to File > Admin Console.
2.   In the Group Management tab, in the Create Group section, fill in the Group Title field and click Create.

To edit a user group:

1.   Select the group in the table.

The selected group is highlighted in yellow. To deselect a group click it again.

2.   Edit its Title in the Edit Group section.
3.   Click Edit.

The group is updated.

To delete a user group, select the group in the table and click the Trash button.